Taste ? I have a few taste questions, Hope somebody can help

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Stevol

Reaction score
I am new to Homebrew and I am in the middle of my second batch. My first brew was a bit of an hit and miss afair that turned out drinkable but had loads of sediment. My only real complaint was a twang when first taking a swig, I got used to this... On my second atempt after researching around a lot and doing things right, it has been bottled and is clearing up nicely. After about a week in the bottle I could not resist cracking one open, but I was disapointed to find the fruity twang (that is my best explaination :D ) is still present.
My question is... will this twang go away with time ? I am impatiant.
A second question, Im using cheap kits would this afect the end flavour?
A third question, Can I add anything to make a more earthy flavour (another atempt to explain taste :D )
Happy brewing everyone, hope I aint gon on to much :mug:

That fruity twang probably won't go away. It more than likely comes from two places- one, fermenting too warm, and two, poor quality ingredients.

Those Coopers kits to me are one of the worst- bad yeast, canned LME, and instructions to ferment too warm.

A good extract beer can be made- with good quality ingredients, and good fermentation temperature control (low 60s).

Right on with Yooper! Cheap kits, poor ingredients and poor brewing practices make for less than desirable beer!