Sweet Stout Narwhal's Lactation (Chai Tea Milk Stout)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

IowaHomeBrewer

Reaction score
Recipe Type
All Grain
Yeast
WY1099
Yeast Starter
3L (for harvesting)
Batch Size (Gallons)
Original Gravity
Final Gravity
Boiling Time (Minutes)
IBU
Color
Dark Brown
Primary Fermentation (# of Days & Temp)
Until FG reached
Secondary Fermentation (# of Days & Temp)
None
Additional Fermentation
48 hr cold crash
Tasting Notes
Velvety body, the Chai flavors hit the front of your palate but finishes roasty
I started brewing when I was really into stouts. My favorite stout at the time was Left Hand Milk Stout and Breckenridge Vanilla Porter. Breckenridge was a little bland, and Left hand was just missing something. I tasted a Russian Imperial Stout that had a little bit of Chai flavor and knew that I had to mix my favorites.

I've played around with the grain bill, hops, and yeast quite a bit. I think I've finished on a pretty good final build.

I've made this three times now following this recipe and it has been consistently delicious. By far my best beer that I make.

Mash at 150 for 60 minutes.

8 lbs Marris Otter
2 lbs Victory malt
1 lbs Chocolate Malt
1 lb Black Patent Malt
1 box 20 Chai Tea packets (yes I leave them in for the whole mash)

60 minute boil
1 lb Dextrose (60 min boil)
1 Lb lactose (60 min boil)

.5 ounce cluster 60 min
1 oz cluster 30 min
.25 tblspn Irish Moss 15 min
1 oz perle 5 min

Chill to 70 degrees, pitch yeast. I like to get it kicked off warm. Set ferm chamber to 66 degrees for duration of fermentation.

Take gravity reading on days 7, 8, and 9. When you get consistent gravity cold crash and keg.

Last edited by a moderator: