1st year Hops in NC

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lkj7295

Reaction score
This is my first attempt at growing hops and would be interested in any feedback some of you more seasoned growers have. I ordered 12 rhizomes from Northwest hops. 4 each of Centennial, Magnum, Mt. Hood.

I didn't have the soil tested but there was only 3-5 inches of before it went to mostly clay, so I decided to build hop beds. I built two hop beds coming off of our storage shed in the back yard, each is 4 foot by 18foot. I found some used treated lumber off of Craigslist and bought 5 foot metal stakes to hold them up. I wrapped the interior of the beds with landscape fabric to keep the weeds out. For the soil, I ordered 4 cubic yards of screened top soil from a local landscaper and filled the beds in. I'm just outside of Raleigh and the beds get full sun from about 8am to 3:30pm so I'm hoping that is enough.

I then built a frame to match the pitch on the roof of the shed and ran cable to create a 'tent' like backbone. I then draped nylon rope across the backbone for the hops to climb on.

When I planted the rhizomes on 4/5/2011 I created the hills ~2.5 feet apart for the same varietal, and ~4 foot between different varietals. In each mound I dug out a hole ~12 inches deep and filled with potting soil. Then put the rhizomes in vertically with the eyes facing up about an inch below the surface, put a thin layer of top soil and a little more potting soil. The eyes ended up ~3 inches below surface. Once that was done I watered them heavily then left them alone for a few days.