Need a good BELGIAN WIT recipe. EXTRACT BASED!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bgough

Reaction score
Hey all! Im just getting started brewing (3rd batch), and I'm looking for a good extract based WIT recipe.

First off, could I just use Wheat malt extract and then steep flaked oats or flaked wheat for mouthfeel?

Or, would it be worth my time to try a mini-mash for this style( This makes me a little nervous because I've never tried it.)

Thanks in advance~:tank:

I was just looking for the same thing. Search the recipe and extract brewing forums (or you can just do a general search for belgian wit extract recipe). There are a lot, can't vouch for how good they are though.

I brewed this one on Sunday so I can’t comment on how it tastes but it does use extracts as you requested. It is from the Extreme Brewing book by Sam Calagione of Dogfish Head. It was contributed by Rob Tod of Allagash Brewing Company and is a clone recipe for Allagash White (Belgian Wit). Note: “secret spice” is described as a “pinch of the spice of your choosing”.

Preboil

6 gallons water

Boil

6.6 lbs. 40% wheat/ 60% barley liquid malt extract or:
3.3 lbs. light/pilsner malt extract and 3.3 lbs 100% wheat malt extract (75 minutes)

3/4 oz. Tettnanger (60 minutes)

3/4 oz. Saaz (60 minutes)

1/4 oz. Saaz (flameout)

1/4 oz. crushed coriander (flameout)

1/4 oz. bitter orange peel (flameout)

1 pinch "secret spice" (flameout)
"secret spice" (anise, cinnamon, vanilla, pepper, or ginger) your choice

5 oz. priming sugar

Yeast

WhiteLabs WLP400 or WLP410 or Wyeast 3944 or 3463 ferment at 70 degrees

OG: 1.048
FG: 1.010

Thanks! This one looks good! I might try steeping some flaked wheat to make it slightly creamier.