First time - Help and opinions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

matrim

Reaction score
I've never tasted mead, but really want to... so here I am.

Since my mead has been in primary since 4.3.12 I know its a tad late to get useful input on my methods, however I am still curious, as my mead may be a bit unorthodox (maybe not, I'm a noob.)

Blackberry oat mead:

Simmer 7 cups water and 2 cups toasted oats for 1 hour and add 200 grams of corn sugar. (adapted from a cider recipe by Daze.)

Heated a gallon of bottled water to 115 degrees F, mixed in 3 pounds local honey and .5 tsp malic acid.

Took off the heat and added .25 gallon cool bottled water. (gravity - 1.072)

I then strained the oat milk into the honey mixture, mixed, and added stage one nutrients (DAP and yeast superfood)

When it reached 75 degrees I pitched half a packet of Nottingham yeast.

I aerated then added the sanitized airlock.

Added stage two nutrients on 4.5.12

On 4.8.12 I noticed a slight sulfur smell so I splash racked onto stage three nutrients. (smells better now.)

I plan on racking at 1.000 and adding blackberries.

Then a whole lot of aging.

I am wondering what I did wrong - if anything.

Also, what is the best way to add the blackberries - in terms of avoiding contamination and preserving the fresh blackberry taste?

Thanks everyone! Sorry for the long post.

First 7 days or so, it is very important to aerate, aerate, aerate..those yeasties need that oxygen, and degasses your must. Once you get up to 2/3 sugar break stop with the aeration and start with the airlock.