want to start making cider, but i need a recipe

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gildog

Reaction score
hey all,

ive been enjoying hard cider for several years now, and how that i have a home brew kit, i realize i dont have to pay 15 dollars a bottle for it.

i wanted to know if anyone has a recipe for a very sweet hard cider, with a good abv. my wife doesnt like dry anything, so i have to make something she'll like, please post your recipes for ciders.

by backsweeten, im guessing you mean add the sweetener in the secondary rihgt?

That is correct, or at bottling. Also, You might consider adding a can or 2 of frozen apple juice concentrate to your juice, it gives it a more pronounced apple flavour, and will bump the ABV up a bit. There are quite a few variations on the apfelwein recipe, all of them pretty easy to make. If you've been paying $15 per bottle, I'd guess you've been buying/drinking real cider, made from cider apples. There will be a significant difference between that & the non-cider apple cider... Not bad, just different. There are plenty of recipes here: Cider - Home Brew Forums Regards, GF.

try mine - https://www.homebrewtalk.com/f81/all-apple-hard-cider-103366/

of course this will ferment out pretty damn dry - so expect to have to backsweeten it to your taste.

how to back sweeten? I'll recomend using splenda for this, as trying to back sweeten with something fermentable can become a problem if you want to carbonate this in the bottle (which is the only way to get it sparkling if you don't have a kegging system)