leaky kegs, broken regulator, or user error?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

todd_k

Reaction score
So I hooked up 2 kegs to pressure test them. both can't get over 10psi but when I lift the release valve they let co2 out. I'm new to this so I may be overlooking something but here is what happens. I hook up the keg and turn on the gas and the needle stays around 8 or 9 psi. I use a spray bottle and spray the top of the kegs and I can't see or hear any bubbles. when I turn off the gas, both the gauges stay where they are, the keg at around 8 or 9 and the tank at about 52 or so. I have to release the pressure from the release valve on the keg to make both of the gauges go back down to 0. If i leave the pressure in the keg and shut off the gas then remove the hose from the keg, the gauges still stay where they are until I hook it back up and release the pressure from the keg.
So it there something wrong with the regulator? is there something I need to do with the flathead screw/spring on the regulator or should I leave that alone? Also, there is another valve on the regulator, looks like a small ball valve, maybe? I move that around and I can hear the pressure from the tank shutting off and coming back on so I leave it in the "on" position.

The screw on the regulator is your output pressure adjust. You have to screw it in or out to change the pressure going out of the regulator. Sounds like everything is workign AOK to me. (option 3 in your title) ;)