Possible Contamination???

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

schmaltzy

Reaction score
New member and first time post! I am fairly new to brewing and I love it! I brewed two batches about a year ago (a honey ale and a red ale) and would like to start brewing on a more regular basis.

I just brewed a new batch of beer and about 3 days ago I transferred it to my secondary. I am pretty strict about sanitizing everything but I think I may have a problem with this batch.

A little background: I used a "Brewers Best" Dunkelweizen kit. Everything started out great and seemed to be fermenting just fine. At the 5 day mark, I transferred it into my glass carboy (secondary) to let it finish out the fermentation process. I started out with a 1.053 specific gravity (Brewers Best says the OG should be around 1.049-1.053) and at the time it went to the secondary I was sitting at 1.025 which put my ABV at 3.7%.

The transfer went good but a couple hours after the transfer I expected a little CO2 to be bubbling out of the airlock but I haven't seen anything. Should I be concerned or just let it go? Should I pitch some more yeast?

Second problem is I think I may have a contamination problem? A day after I transferred my beer into the carboy, I noticed about half a dozen white dots about 1/8" diameter. Mold? I am pretty strict about using a one step sanitizer and I thought I had cleaned every pretty throughly. I think I should know within a couple more days whether it is mold for sure or not, but if it is I'm guessing I will have to dump it. Is there anything else it could be?

Thanks for any and all help!