WLP001 starter - Is this normal?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tom_hampton

Reaction score
I'm planning on making a Pliney today. I'm concerned about my starter. I could run down to the LHBS and get a couple new vials, if any of my concerns are valid. But, this is my first time using this yeast, so...maybe what I'm seeing is normal....and just different from my usual strain.

I've been growing a 2L WLP001 starter for the last few days. I use stir plates, and I have the starter in 2 1L Erlenmeyer flasks (both on stir plates). I started from a vial in a single flask. After the first step completed I split it in two and topped up with fresh wort.

Yesterday I crashed it, decanted and added 800 mL of wort to each. I added this last addition about 12 hours ago.

This yeast starter shows only slight signs of activity:

1. a small quantity of bubbles swirling to the surface (presumably co2)
2. milky yeast in suspension
3. There is only small evidence of krausen on the flask (a very light ring about 1/4 above the starter level in the flask.
4. I tasted the starter and it is rather bland and watery.
5. When I stop the stir plates very little material drops out of suspension to settle onto the bottom.

This is my first time using calale. I've been brewing english styles for as long as I can remember, so I normally use WLP002. I'm used to more dramatic signs of activity in the starter, with 002:

1. When I stop the stirplate the yeast quickly drops to the bottom and you can easily see the quantity of yeast that has grown since the previous step.

2. I always see a fair amount of CO2 bubbles in the starter as well.

3. There is usually a larger krausen ring...where I have to leave enough headspace in the flask or it may overflow.