White wine - am I supposed to shake the carboy during fermentation?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

brewew

Reaction score
Hi !

I've been making white wine from a concentrate, and it is currently fermenting (2-3 weeks left).

This concentrate came with a pretty akward user guide, and my question is this:

Am I supposed to give the carboy a good shake several times a day during the fermentation? Or do I let it sit still?

This may be a stupid question, and if so, pardon my ignorance..

Thanks! :)

BR. Jon

yeast dont like vibrations, dont shake.

im new to this as well, so maybe there is some shaking method I am not aware of?

Sometimes the instructions ask you to stir during the first couple of days, but not usually. In primary, it's fine to have it exposed to air as long as it's covered so that fruitflies and the like can't get to it. After the first few days, it's important to keep it airlocked and not splash/shake/stir so that you don't aerate it. Oxygen will ruin wine after fermentation slows.

The idea behind stirring is to break up the larger yeast colonies and even them out some during active fermentation. It will also help to remove gas and other byproducts as well. You may have to stir just the top every 20 minutes after adding the yeast as is floats on the surface foaming up to be followed with a good bottom stir. If it takes a week for active fermentation, you have to stir 2x a day but if it takes a month, then 2x a week should be fine. There is an art to stirring depending on what needs done. Some live yeast will float to the bottom and it helps to kick them up a bit.

Thanks for the replies !