Copper to brass union?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kman42

Reaction score
I've never worked with copper before, but I'm trying to connect a pipe to a brass bulkhead on a cooler MT. I've been following the Cheap and Easy MT thread, but I've decided to use a copper tube inside the SS braid. Is there a particular type of copper tubing I should get? Should I use a compression fitting to attach it to the brass nipple that goes through the cooler wall?

On a related note, what gauge copper wire should I wrap the tubing with?

Should I use a couple elbows to get the copper tubing closer to the bottom of the cooler?

Anything else I should be thinking about?

Note, I am not outfitted to do any soldering.

thanks!
kman

u don't need a copper tube inside your braid...it's overkill
12 bucks at lowes will outfit you for soldering, and its a good skill to learn, especially when you wanna see if a manifold is any better than the braid

I was planning on using SS hose clamps, but in another thread I was told to go with the copper tubing inside and avoid the clamps. True SS clamps also seem to be hard to find, at least locally. The copper tubing is something I can pick up at Home Depot.

kman