Cider to Vinegar

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

crafalik

Reaction score
I am new to the world of cider. I just kegged and force carbonated my cider to the delight of all who visit. It came out great.

I placed three gallons of quality organize cider and two pounds of granulated sugar in a fermenter (3 gal glass carboy) and allowed it to ferment for 5 months. I then added preservatives and blended it back with two additional gallons of fresh unfermented cider (I wanted it to be a little sweeter with more apple character). Force carbonated it and its amazing.

Now here is the question. A few months before I started that batch I purchased some of the same cider to experiment with. I bought some airlocks and stoppers that would fit on the glass jugs. I emptied out a little cider and simply added some Red Star Cote des Blancs yeast. The plan was to try different methods of sweetening it to see if there was a preferred method. What I ended up with was vinegar. NOT PLEASANT.

Where did I go wrong? Why was I successful the first time? Did I let them sit too long or do I need to do something to prevent wild yeast?

Thanks

Boy, I don't have an answer for that except to say that obviously it got infected by Acetobacter. How that happened is a mystery- could a fruit fly have gotten in there? Was there contamination on the yeast packet? Did your airlock/stopper not get sanitized properly? Did the stopper ride up at some point and allow the infection?

I'm a winemaker, so I do use Campden tablets in everything I don't boil, and I've never had an infection. But there are people who don't use them, and don't get infections, too! I'm sure that it was sanitation- but how/when will always be a mystery, at least to me.