re-using yeast after high gravity brew

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

balto charlie

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Hey folks: I just made a dubbel using WLP540 Abbey IV Ale Yeast. I have heard/read that you shouldn't use yeast after it has produce a beer like this. It was near 1.070 and should finish around 1.011 (hopefully). I pitched @ 75F, in a room that was @ 75F, after 2 days of active fermentation of the main mash I added the simple sugars.
What do y'all do. Is the yeast beat? I can either make a big RIS or a simple nut brown. I can put the new beer right on top of the yeast cake or just pitch a pint of slurry. Or just start a new batch of yeast. Thoughts??

Thanks, Charlie

I'm no expert but I can give you my experiences. I've made several beers in the 1.060 range and re-used the yeast without any troubles following the yeast washing method on the HBT wiki (just google 'yeast washing wiki').

The only thing that sounds a little odd to me is that you're planning to use a belgian abbey yeast for a RIS or a nut brown ale? Isn't that a little unorthodox? But by all means, don't let me discourage you if you're looking for something unique :)

Belgian Stouts are pretty damn good - go for it if you want to.

I have read that if you're reusing a cake you don't want to go down too much in gravity - i.e. you wouldn't want to ferment a 1.045-1.050 beer with yeast that have worked on your 1.070 dubbel. If anyone has any more information on that, or can tell me if it's completely wrong, I'd appreciate it :)