PH tester

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Zoltanar

Reaction score
Hi all.
Sorry if this has already been asked, but I could not find exact answer to my questions.

I am considering buying a ph tester to test the water when brewing, and also to check my Star San ph level - I read,somewhere that if Star San ph goes above 3.5, it's not god anymore.
So, here are the questions - please consider I am an amateur home brewer, so I don't need/want anything too sophisticated like a $100+ tester that would be used for a larger scale production.

- I read that the best is to have 2 points calibration. Is this a must? Can I go with 1 point calibration?
- How often do you need to calibrate these things?
- The pouch of calibration "stuff" that comes with it is good for how many uses? Where do you get more if needed?
- How long is this device good for, considering I only do 10 - 15 batches a year? I think I read somewhere that it wares out fast...
- Would the $20 price range I can get on eBay be good enough?

Any advise would be good.