Duvel like Recipe?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cercueil

Reaction score
Hello All. I am new to this forum. I am a newbie and brewed 2 kit beers that came out pretty good. I want to "make" my own recipe for a belgium duvel like beer (Extract). I ran across some recipes and came up with the following (depending upon what my home brew shop has). Any comments or suggestions are greatly appreciated. I also had a question about the aging of Belgian Beers. How long do they need to age? Some recipes call for 2-6 months. Is this the norm for Belgium beers or is that just for Belgian Strong Ales? Thank you for your help.

.25 lbs. Belgian Munich or Belgian Pils
.25 lbs. Belgian Biscuit or German 2-row Pils or Belgian Cara-Pils

3 lbs. Dry Extra Light Extract
6 lbs. Liquid Light Extract

1 lbs Belgian Candy Sugar Clear
1 lb corn sugar?

2 oz. Saaz pellets (boiling) or Styrian Goldings
1 oz. Kent Goldings pellets

WYeast 1728 Scottish Ale or WYeast 1388 Belgian Strong Ale

.5 cup corn sugar (bottling)

The Scottish is not right, 1388 is the correct Duvel yeast though. I recommend going to the Jamil Show archives on www.thebrewingnetwork.com and listening to the Belgian Strong Golden Ale show. Your recipe looks pretty good, part of the reason to listen to that show is to learn about how to do a mini-mash with the extract to make it more fermentable and getting the dryness you need for this beer. Good luck.