too cold then too warm

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dbenet

Reaction score
I'm pretty new at brewing and started my fifth batch yesterday (first one during winter), a mash-extract kit IPA using WLP013 no starter. I usually leave my primary in a dark corner of the garage, but its much colder out there now. 2 hours after pitching at 65F, the temp had dropped to 62F. The yeast vial says to keep temp above 70F until fermentation starts so I brought the fermenter in the house close to the heater (woops). The heater was on with the thermostat set to 68...perfect I thought not thinking about the fact that thermostat shuts off at 68 but the actual air temp coming out of the heater is much higher. I woke up this morning and the fermenter was at 78F. I freaked out and took it back out to the garage where it has now dropped to 74. Good news its that 12 hours after pitching, a good krausen is forming and its bubbling away, but I can't imagine that being exposed to such a wide temp range over 12 hours was very good for the poor yeasties. Should I expect some less desirable flavors from this? ruined perhaps or just super estery? Any input on this situation would be appreciated.

Generally, higher temperatures during the growth phase aren't a problem. But you do need to get the temperature down now.

got the temp down and fermentation seemed to go just fine having tapered off now. I will be transferring to secondary for another 10+ days and was wondering if dry hopping might be a good idea on this IPA. I'm worried that it might smell estery due to the high ferm. temp and that a good hoppy nose might help it along. any thoughts?