4th Batch All grain Brew

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BODWB

Reaction score
Thanks for all the help from
Beer and Wine International.
4450 South Blvd
Charlotte, NC 28029

They gave me this recipe
Safale US05 YEAST
German Select Whole Hops 5.7 Alpha oz
10# Briess 2-row Brewers Malt
1# Belgian Special-WP Malt
.75# pale chocolate
.25# American Roasted Barley

Waiting for it to cool now so I can check the OG and pitch the yeast.

I am not sure I understand what this recipe is suppose to be but I am a newb. Good luck hope it turns out great.

I am not sure I understand what this recipe is suppose to be but I am a newb. Good luck hope it turns out great.

LOL, me either, not sure either. I told the Beer Dude at the store I liked dark European style bears and he gave me the grains. Smells good so far, can't wait to taste it.

gravity is at 1.024 today yeast is kicking it even though i am using a frozen bottle of water to keep it cooler. temp was about 68

It looks like an interesting beer. I think it's a stout with a German flair.

Thanks, good to know. Will probally name it something once I taste it. Which brings me this philosophical question?

Name the beer before or after it's "born"?

That recipe looks interesting.

I found an article from BYO about Roasted Barley Tips From the Pros:Roasted Barley

It may be a brown ale.

I may have to try some of that roasted barley in my next APA/IPA

I would also suggest that you stop checking the gravity every two days. Leave it alone for a week to 10 days then 2 more days. Check the gravity then and leave it alone for another week or two.

That recipe looks interesting.

I found an article from BYO about Roasted Barley Tips From the Pros:Roasted Barley

It may be a brown ale.