Coopers Kit's...your secrets?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

billy_awesome

Reaction score
Hey everyone, newbie here.

Just started brewing my 2nd batch of Coopers brew.

First batch was a Canadian Blond Ale (believed the coopers recipe and bottled after 8 days). Used the 1 kilo of dextrose I was advised to by my LHBS, and after being in bottles for 2-3 weeks it tastes rather cidery but I would say it tastes more like "wine-beer"

Now after doing some MAJOR research, and reading opinion after opinion I decided to experiment on just my second batch. I used Coopers Lager and decided to experiment by using 50% dextrose and 50% Dry malt extract. Only time will tell to how I like the beer, but this time I will leave in the fermenter for 3 weeks and bottles for another 3 weeks for appropriate aging.

I was wondering if anyone has any secrets to brewing their Coopers kit's for optimum beer tasting.

For the record, I enjoy Canadian Pilsner beer (Labatt Blue, Budweiser, etc). So any tips that can make my beer taste like those brews would be appreciated. THANKS!

I made their Mexican Lager once and it turned many heads as being a good beer. It was served best with a bit of lime. I will do it again this summer based upon requests for it again from my friends.

I used dry malt for the sugar and just followed the directions. Everything went super easy.

Still brewing my first batch (in primary since the 26th). My first batch I am going to bottle after 2 weeks.
I am planning a couple of partial boils (but not the extract!). I'll let you know how they come out! :)