Just a couple of qustions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sublimebrew

Reaction score
Hello all... I'm new to all this and I have a couple qustions, so please bare with me....Just brewed last night I ran into just a few snags like my funnel fliter kept clogging. I used a auto siphion & a reverse flow chiller. The clip on the hose kept clogging also, so I took it off & used a friend to pinch the hose as needed. Is this common??? Also my kettle took forever heat up to a boil (about a hour) on an electric stove. I did keep the extract stired up so I didn't burn it to the pan. Is that to long for the extract to get to a boil or will it be OK??? Thanks for the advice eveyone.

sublimebrew said:
Hello all... I'm new to all this and I have a couple qustions, so please bare with me....Just brewed last night I ran into just a few snags like my funnel fliter kept clogging. I used a auto siphion & a reverse flow chiller. The clip on the hose kept clogging also, so I took it off & used a friend to pinch the hose as needed. Is this common??? Also my kettle took forever heat up to a boil (about a hour) on an electric stove. I did keep the extract stired up so I didn't burn it to the pan. Is that to long for the extract to get to a boil or will it be OK??? Thanks for the advice eveyone.

First off, you can use a sanitized butter knife, etc., to continually scrape the funnel screen/stir the liquid, thus keeping the flow going.