Should I keep my hydrometer in the primary?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jining

Reaction score
Hello! I am new to homebrewing, my buddy and I just picked up a pretty decent kit from our local home brewing store (The Cellar in Seattle, WA).

We just got the wort in the primary today, we are attempting to make a light wheat ale, seems to be an easy beginner beer.

Anyways, just curious if I should keep the hydrometer in the primary, or continue to extract samples? Seems like more risk of contamination if I keep opening it and extracting samples.

Thanks for the help!

Aaron

Once the yeast start going to town they will form a foam on the top which will definitely adhere to your hydrometer. Once they do that it will weigh it down enough to throw off your readings, not to mentions make it nearly impossible to read.

Just follow good sanitation processes when extracting samples for testing... I would wait a couple of weeks before testing anyway. Welcome to homebrewing!!

Neither, like nealf said you won't get accurate readings but also just leave the beer alone for three weeks. Before transferring the beer just take one reading and make sure the FG is where you expect it to be. Minimize messing with the beer. :mug:

+1. Just wait till you see that crud, you will soon see why it won't work. ;)

PS remember this, your first post. A few brews down the line you will have a palm/forehead moment and wonder if you ever really asked this on your first post here. Enjoy it! :D

You can just leave the original sample in the tube & check that occasionally. It will finish faster than the fermenter, but can be interesting to watch. Just give it a good shaking before each measurement to de-gas it.