Always use a blow off??

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wildrebel

Reaction score
I'm planning on brewing my first batch tomorrow. I do not have a blow off hose but I really want to start tomorrow (I ordered one but it hasn't been delivered yet) . I have all the equipment i need but no blow off hose. Do I need a blow off hose? The fermentation process will take place in my closet. Please help me... I'm a beginner!

Are you fermenting in a carboy or plastic bucket? What size? How many gallons are you brewing?

Well I bought a kit from midwest brewing supply that has a plastic primary fermenting bucket, a glass carboy and a plastic bottling bucket. I have a 5 gallon brewing kit for a Fat Tire clone.

That should be a 6.5g plastic bucket. Use that as your primary (where you put the wort into and add yeast). That gives you plenty of head room and you just need to use the airlock. No need for a blow-off hose unless you ferment in a 5 gallon carboy.

If your kit came with a fermentation lock you can use that, but be sure to keep a close eye on fermentation activity. I once did an Imperial IPA that blew the bung an lock out of my carboy! Lots of mopping and crying. FermCap can help keep thing under control too.

If your using a carboy you'll need a properly sized bung, and ferm. lock. If you use a bucket the lid should have a hole w/ a grommet in it and you put your ferm. lock in that.

Good luck!

I've brewed 12 batches and have not used nor needed a blow of tube. You have plenty of room in a 6.5 gallon bucket brewing 5 gallon batches.