extract brews leading up to mashing

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hophead138

Reaction score
Im fairly new to brewing. i have brewed several kits over the past three months and believe im ready to start selecting my own ingredients for my extract brews at this point. I have outlined all of my brews that i believe will lead me to the point were ill be prepared and ready to mash. Please let me know if there are any concerns or suggestions about this curriculum of sorts..

english style ales
Pale ale(basic techniques)
scoth ale( learn to use brown suger)
Old ale(use molasses)
Barley wine(high alcohol content)

German styles(from here on out we'll use liquid yeast)
Kolsch( light german ale, basic brew techniques, use of liquid yeast)
Trappist ale( use of bottle cultured yeast)
Fruit ale( use of fresh fruit)
All- Malt continental pilsner(First attempt at lagering)
Dunkel Bock(lagering a dark beer)
American pilsner( solidify lagering techniques

While you can brew all of those using extract, I don't think brewing all of those as extract beers will make you ready for starting a mash.

It's like riding a bike. You can do it whenever you start to learn. IMHO, using liquid yeast, molasses, brown sugar, or even making barley wine isn't all that complicated. Some of the finer details come into play when lagering, since you've got a cooler fermentation and the additional cold aging to do, compounded by the extra difficulties of producing a solid beer to begin with (at least in the case of a lighter lager- less room to hide off flavors with hops or alcohol).