Kegging Kombucha

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TheCrowsNest

Reaction score
I've seen this touched upon and the answers I've found don't reference any real-world experiences. It seems most people just frown at the idea because an acidic solution can pit stainless.

I'd love to hear from some people that have dedicated one of their tap lines to kombucha and whether the experience was good or bad.

I have never entertained the idea. I am not very experienced with kombucha. I had a mother a few yrs ago, got rid of it because I was the only one drinking it. When I brew a gallon every week, the bottles were piling up. So what level of co2 to you shoot for? Mine was always very light.

Now that I started a new mother I may try to keg...

What pressure do you put it at? And do you add flavors to the keg? Like fruit or anything or just straight kombucha?

I keg at serving pressure, which for me is about fifteen psi since I have to push my beer up 7 feet our so. I have never added flavorings so I can't speak to any of that.

A local company here in asheville Buchi' serves their kombucha from cornies. They also distribute those to bars and restaurants.

I've got a 3 gallon keg and 3 gallons of Booch that's gonna be ready in a week or so, I'll give it a shot and report back.