Dunkelweiss Recipe

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cpt_Kirks

Reaction score
I have not brewed a Dunkelweiss for a while. How does this recipe look?

6lbs Pale Wheat Malt
2lbs Dark wheat
4lbs Two-row Pale
2lbs Vienna
2lbs Munich Dark
1lbs Crystal 60L
2lbs Flaked Wheat

.5oz Magnum 10.1% @ 60m
.50z Hallertau 3.4% @ 60m

Wyeast 3068

I've never used dark wheat before.

Otherwise I think it looks pretty good. Although it isn't exactly to style I generally throw in about a 1/4 lb of Chocolate.

I think you can simplify your grist significantly and still have a world-class Dunkelweizen.

60% wheat malt (pale is fine) and 40% Munich and Vienna. What OG are you targeting?

I'll second flyangler's comment. My first Dunkelweizen had all sorts of stuff thrown in and it tasted like it. At the very least I'd ditch the crystal malt (though I tend to say that about most German-style beers).

I agree.. you could simplify ..

Use 60% Wheat .. maybe a little bit of Torrified Wheat . The rest Pale malt and a 2lbs of Munich.

You really only need 4 types of grain. Plain Wheat, Torrified Wheat (for head retention), Pale, and Munich (for color/maltiness). Although I have done a Dunkel before that had a bit of Crystal 20L in it, and it tasted fine.

OK, I updated the recipe based on the input:

9lbs Pale Wheat Malt
8lbs Munich Dark
2lbs Flaked Wheat

.5oz Magnum 10.1% @ 60m
.50z Hallertau 3.4% @ 60m

Wyeast 3068 (2 pkgs)

I really don't see a reason for the flaked wheat, personally. Head retention issues are best addressed through technique than extra ingredients - it's the same response I have for recipes that include Carapils.

60% wheat malt (pale is fine) and 40% Munich and Vienna.