How to clean stains off a glass carboy?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dtarrance

Reaction score
Hello to all!

I have an old glass carboy a friend gave me because I'm just getting into home brewing. He had used it years ago (maybe 7 or 8 years) to try his hand at brewing, but never really got the hang of it. So he let it sit in his storage shed, laying on its side in the Texas heat for years.

I guess he didn't wash it out properly before he put it in there because there are numerous black/dark brown stains on the inside of the glass. :mad:

I tried filling it up half way with water and adding in some OxyClean then filling it up the rest of the way. I let it sit for 36+ hours and that did remove some of the stains, but not the thicker/darker ones. I also tried using a bottle brush to scrub them off, but it didn't really work that well. :(

Does anyone know of a better chemical/product/whatever to use to remove these stains, or is this carboy beyond cleaning, and I should just pitch this one and buy a new one?

I did a search on here but couldn't really find any information that could really help me out, but if someone knows of a thread that already exists, please point me to it!

Thanks to anyone who can help shed some light on this for me!

David

PWB works pretty well. Put 5 tablespoons in and fill it to the top with warm water and let it set for a few days. If that does not work, then get some Starsan, put two tablespoons in it and let it sit for a week. It can take paint off the outside of a Corona bottle, so I bet it would eat through whatever stain is in there. If that does not work, get a Better Bottle. You won't cut off your fingers and you back will thank you.