Recipe formulation Pale ale

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

xjncoguyx

Reaction score
Working on a summertime pale ale recipe, hoping for a sweet/malty yet hoppy pale ale. How does this look to you guys.

5.5 gal

8#2-row
2#Crystal40L
1#cara-pils
1#Honey malt

1oz Chinook @60
.5oz Cascade @15
.5oz Cascade @5
.5oz Cascade @1

US-05

Im new to this recipe formulation thing, and this looks alright to me, but then again this is only my 2nd recipe.

I think you've got a bit too much dextrin malts. I'd reduce it to 1.5 lbs crystal 40 and 0.5lbs carapils. With 2 lbs of those malts, I think you'll get a sweetish beer like you want. I think 3 lbs would be cloying IMHO.

I think you've got a bit too much dextrin malts. I'd reduce it to 1.5 lbs crystal 40 and 0.5lbs carapils. With 2 lbs of those malts, I think you'll get a sweetish beer like you want. I think 3 lbs would be cloying IMHO.
Yeah i was thinking about dropping them down a little, especially having them both, the only reason i had the cara in there was for head retention, but i think with the 40L i should be fine.

That looks gawd-awful sweet. I know you want some sweetness, but that recipe would be cloyingly sweet as well as a bit too bitter.

How about something like:

9 lbs Pale Malt (2 Row) US (2.0 SRM) Grain 90.00 %
12.0 oz Caramel/Crystal Malt - 40L (40.0 SRM) Grain 7.50 %
4.0 oz Honey Malt (25.0 SRM) Grain 2.50 %
0.75 oz Chinook [11.50 %] (60 min) Hops 31.7 IBU
0.50 oz Cascade [5.40 %] (15 min) Hops 4.9 IBU
0.50 oz Cascade [5.40 %] (5 min) Hops 2.0 IBU
0.50 oz Cascade [5.40 %] (1 min) Hops 0.4 IBU

You could go up to a pound of crystal 40L if you really wanted, or add .25 pound of crystal 10L for sweetness.