Hobby or Job?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hobby or Job

• Hobby

• Hobby(maybe a job in the future)

• Job right now

Results are only viewable after voting.

JGowls

Reaction score
How many of you brew just as a hobby and how many of you do this for a career in a brewery? If you do it just as a hobby, would you ever want to take it another step and try and open up a brewery? I'm just a beginner and have a longggg way to go but I think it would be awesome to one day have my own small brewery...

I would love ti brew for a living. I'm trying to convince SWMBO that it would be a good idea to open a supply shop where wr live.

JGowls said:
How many of you brew just as a hobby and how many of you do this for a career in a brewery? If you do it just as a hobby, would you ever want to take it another step and try and open up a brewery? I'm just a beginner and have a longggg way to go but I think it would be awesome to one day have my own small brewery...

Serious hobby:) planning on working part time for a fellow brew club friend going pro once up and running.

I would love ti brew for a living. I'm trying to convince SWMBO that it would be a good idea to open a supply shop where wr live.

Brewing and running a LHBS are two totally different things. With the cheap shipping these days I don't see how it's possible to earn a decent living running a LHBS. Online retailers are where it's at.

Homebrewing is just a hobby for me. I fear that even considering it as a career would ruin it...

Homebrewing is just a hobby for me. I fear that even considering it as a career would ruin it...

+1 this! I tried turning a previous hobby into a prefession and quickly lost the 'fun' factor. I made a profit and met my customer's needs but it just wasn't fun anymore.