Hoping I Improved Efficiency

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

99blackgt

Reaction score
Hey guys, noob here. :cross:

I had a few people help me out a while back on my efficiency of brewing, and i was working at around 50-60% efficiency :-(

Anyways, i know that 1/2 the problem was using a food processor or a coffee grinder for grain "crushing", and the other half was my lack of a decent mash tun.

Well now i have a grinder. Got it from a local place for a pretty decent price. I'm still building my rubber keg LMT, so i was doing a halfassed setup this time. Wanted to mess around with the grain mill, so i made a small batch. It's a pain in the ass to mess around with more than a few lbs of grain with no mash abilities. So here's my results.

2.5lb 2.4l 2-row
.5lb 80l crystal
1lb crushed cracked corn
tons of hops, lol

1 gallon with 120* rest (for the korn) then 155 for 45 then up to 170 and strained.

slowly poured 2 gallons of 175* water over the grains. This is where having a mash tun would have been much better, this was more like fly sparaging, but with me pouring it, i'm sure it didn't work well. This is also the reason i made such a small batch.

finished the boil with 2 gallons, almost exactly. 1.058 gravity.

I tried doing math that some people showed me. One guy posted in a recent thread (right above this one) that you do (wortsize*grav)/grainlbs .... but that always comes up with mid 50's, even if i pretend the gravity was 1.2, which i know isn't right

someone else posted something where it was

2(58)/4(36) = 80.5%

which i think is (size*grav)/(lbs*36) but i'm not sure what the 36 stands for, just some arbitrary number? Or something to do with the type of grain you use?