1st AG IPA - Please Review

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

macabra11

Reaction score
This is my first attempt at creating an all grain IPA from scratch. Please critique and let me know what you suggest. Should I add 1/2 lb of rice hulls to help prevent a stuck mash? This seems like a lot of grain, but I DO want an ABV around 7% and I want some serious IBUs. Fire away! :drunk:

5.5 Gallon Batch AG - American IPA

14 lb. American Two-row Pale
3 lb. American Crystal 40L
8 oz. Cara-Pils
1 oz. Roasted Barley
1 Tbs Gypsum (I have real soft water) in mash
Mash at 153 degrees for 90 min

60 min 1.0 oz. Chinook 13.0%
60 min 0.5 oz. Simcoe 13.0%
40 min 1.0 oz. Cascade 5.5%
30 min 1.0 oz. Cascade 5.5%
15 min 0.5 oz. Willamette 5.5%
1 min 0.5 oz. Willamette 5.5%

1 tsp Irish Moss
Wyeast American 1056 w/starter

Ferment 7-10 days at 67 degrees
Secondary Dry Hop w/1.0 oz. Cascade 5.5% for 10 days

In my opinion WAY too much Crystal! :drunk:

Most folks try to limit their crystal to ~5% in IPA - you can get away with around 10% of your grain bill, but anything more than that is pushing it in my opinion.

Also, at ~75% efficiency, that grain bill will give you ~9% ABV. I would drop the 2-row to 12lbs and the crystal to 1lb.

I'd also cut out the 40 min cascade and add that to the dry hop.

What's your lauter vessel? Probably won't need the rice hulls, in my opinion...

oh, one more thing -- let this one sit in the primary AT LEAST 3 weeks.

+1 on the 40min hop addition, you should get enough utilization and hoppy flavor from the Chinook. If you are looking for aroma, I would defintely dry hop some cascade. According to my calculations, you are defintely over 80 IBU, so you got one hoppy beer there.