Feedback needed on recipe

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chickbrewer

Reaction score
Hi all!
I have been brewing beer for about 7 months now and this is my first shot at making my own recipe. Please provide some feedback as to what you think of it. All suggestions/comments are welcome.

Thanks in advance! :mug:

Recipe: The Great Ruffidge Pumpkin
Style: American Pale Ale
TYPE: All Grain
Taste: (35.0) This is supposed to be a slightly sweet, full body beer, with a little spice.

Recipe Specifications
--------------------------
Batch Size: 5.00 gal
Boil Size: 5.72 gal
Estimated OG: 1.053 SG
Estimated Color: 11.5 SRM
Estimated IBU: 27.2 IBU
Brewhouse Efficiency: 75.00 %
Boil Time: 60 Minutes

Ingredients:
------------
Amount Item Type % or IBU
7.00 lb Pale Malt (2 Row) US (2.0 SRM) Grain 70.00 %
2.00 lb Caravienne Malt (22.0 SRM) Grain 20.00 %
1.00 lb Caramel/Crystal Malt - 40L (40.0 SRM) Grain 10.00 %
1.25 oz Tettnang [4.50 %] (60 min) Hops 19.9 IBU
0.75 oz Cascade [5.50 %] (15 min) Hops 7.3 IBU
0.10 oz Cinnamon Stick (Boil 10.0 min) Misc
1.00 cup Brown Sugar (Boil 10.0 min) Misc
1.50 tsp Nutmeg (Boil 10.0 min) Misc
6.00 lb Pumpkin (Mash 60.0 min) Misc
1 Pkgs British Ale (White Labs #WLP005) Yeast-Ale

Mash Schedule: Single Infusion, Full Body
Total Grain Weight: 10.00 lb

----------------------------
Single Infusion, Full Body
Step Time Name Description Step Temp
45 min Mash In Add 12.50 qt of water at 170.5 F 158.0 F
10 min Mash Out Add 5.00 qt of water at 196.6 F 168.0 F

Notes:
------
Use cooking pumpkin for this recipe as opposed to the regular jack-o-lanterns. To prepare pumpkin, cut in half and take out all the goup and seeds. Cut into chunks and bake in the oven for 1 hour at 350 degrees. Mash at 158 degrees for 60 minutes.