English Barleywine: Wy1968 or Wy1275?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Evan!

Reaction score
I've never done an English b-wine before, but that's what I'm doing for the Central Veeyay Brewdown this weekend, so I figured I'd better nail this down now so I can start my starter early and ramp it up. I was at my LHBS over the weekend and they were closing out their Wyeast paks at $4.50, so I picked up the 1968 London ESB and the 1275 Thames Valley. Now, on one hand, JZ & JP say to use a highly attenuative strain to help dry it out---of the two, the Thames is higher at 77% (vs. 67-71% for the ESB); on the other hand, when you look at the product descriptions on Wyeast's website, they list suggested styles for each one, and English B-Wine is listed for the 1968 but not for the 1275.

So what do you think? 1968? 1275? 4 packets of Notty?

i just did an ESB with 1968, and mis-calculated my hops (didn't account for the age, oops) but that's another story. what i ended up with is a too malty beer and that allowed the yeast character to really shine through. maybe shine is the wrong word. i didn't like it all that much. came out very nutty. and it didn't attenuate very well. i still have the yeast cake sitting in the carboy because i don't want to give up on that yeast just yet. maybe a properly hopped ESB will turn out a little better. i've also been mulling a barleywine so maybe that yeast cake is destined for that. i wouldn't recommend the 1968 based on my experience.

I think 1968 will leave that Barleywine like syrup. I guess it could work for a barleywine if you had a reasonable gravity and mashed really low. 1968 left my 3.4% Mild with a ton of body. I can't imagine what would happen with a 1.110 OG barley wine.