Advice on how to give advice?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

agroff383

Reaction score
Let me preface this post by saying I am by no means a "pro" brewer, not anywhere close, I have been brewing for 2 years and have made some bad brews and some decent brews.

A local small brewpub which shall remain nameless makes awesome food and ok beer, but their lighter styles are always cloudy. Pale ales, IPA, ESB, etc always look like a hefe, they are that cloudy. I don't know his exact setup but part of me hurts for this guy, not like he's dumb and I am a genious, but I think if he checked his water chem and used Whirlfloc his lighter beers would look 10x better.

The only reason I say this is because I ran into the EXACT same problems with my beers, and it was frustrating. The Whirlfloc was far and away way better than plain irish moss in my experience. But he's the one with the successful (from what I can tell) brewpub and I am the schmuck paying for the beer!

But I can see maybe some homebrewers may get a bad rap offering advice in this fashion. I mean I am not so excited or fired up about it that I am going to be a dick to the guy, I love what he's doing and I think it is great for this area. I love brewing like a religion and I would never put down someone doing something I consider a dream for myself. But I know it has to hurt the appeal of these beers when I get a pour and they are not clear, not by a longshot.

So I figured I would post on here and see what everyone's opinion is on this situation. I won't probably ever say anything to him because I don't want to come off like that, but I was pondering it on the way home from there today.