brewing in the basement?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

barside laundry

Reaction score
I have been making for about 3 years and I always brew outside. My basement appears to perfect for brewing as I have a sink, gas hook up, nice counters. So am I looking for advice about actually brewing in the basement. I cannot take my propane bottle down there (that just seems wrong), what about electric heating elements? What about tapping into my house's gas line (which I installed) and use a natural gas burner? Ventilation?

Thanks

barside laundry said:
I have been making for about 3 years and I always brew outside. My basement appears to perfect for brewing as I have a sink, gas hook up, nice counters. So am I looking for advice about actually brewing in the basement. I cannot take my propane bottle down there (that just seems wrong), what about electric heating elements? What about tapping into my house's gas line (which I installed) and use a natural gas burner? Ventilation?

Thanks
The biggest thing I'd worry about is ventilation. As you brew, CO is being produced, and CO sinks (heavier than air). As you are already in the basement, where's it going to sink to? If you can properly vent the area you are brewing in, you may be OK, but high BTU burners are just not meant to be used indoors. To me it's an unacceptable risk.

Yes, Propane burner indoors=trouble.