Gelatinizing rice for rice wine?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Newton

Reaction score
If I were to take, say 10 pounds of rice, and cook it in a rice cooker, would this "gelantize" the rice? I was thinking of then adding like 1 pound or so of malted wheat--enzemes for conversion--some water and then lautering. Boil this for a little while, cool and pitch S-05 yeast. Could I make cooking grade rice wine this way? Thanks!

I'm just getting started on a sake adventure. It's bad when even the LHBS says "don't do it - everybody I know that's tried to make it has hated their version". The other LHBS said "I don't carry anything for it, because I don't like it. The best I can do is pronounce it."

So ... in light of this ... I'm wondering about making kome-koji. I realize it is needs a tropical type environment, like most molds. Warm, moist, etc. I was thinking of using an aquarium heater to heat the water up to a certain temperature within a ice cooler. The aquarium heater cost ~20 USD, and just has to be submerged in water. This should provide a nice humid, temperature controlled environment, without sacrificing my lagering fridge's temperature control. Granted, it means it is a one purpose tool - and that's always something to be avoided, but it is an option!

Also, I'm not sure if it taboo, but there is a Taylor-made guide for "make sake" ... if your google-fu is weak, I'm sorry. How good is this guide as opposed to the one that posted previously in the thread?

OK, so it's not taboo. How do these guides compare? I'd prefer to do it right ... or as right as I can.