Greetings from South East Michigan!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

VApatriot

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

Noob brewer here just getting started. I live in South Eastern Michigan (Canton for those who may be familiar) and I'm just getting started in this wonderful hobby. Yesterday, I brewed my first batch of Irish Red ale, from an extract kit I bought from morebeer.com and it's fermenting as I write. Wish me luck!

RT

Greetings from Wyandotte. But you don't need to mail order a kit. Just head to Van Born, just east of Telegraph in Taylor and you will find an amazingly well stocked Local Home Brew Store -- Adventures in Homebrewing. They have a great recipe binder there and will fix you up with the base malt and steeping grains from their high-volume fresh stock. And the staff is very helpful. Homebrewing, Beer Brewing, Wine Making, and Home Brewing Supplies

BooneDocks - I know about Adventures in Homebrewing, that's where I bought my yeast, a growler and a couple other small things I needed. Fortunately for me, it's only about 10 minutes from work and on my way home! I bought my Irish Red kit from morebeer.com because that's where I bought some of my equipment and I figured I would save time and the shipping cost. I am planning on getting into AG very soon, just need a second burner (at least). I do have a question for anyone in this area, where is a good place to get bottles? I (ideally) would like to get 2-6 cases of 12 oz brown long neck bottles. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

RT

Do you have a recycle center near you? People throw them away even with the deposit.

Friends or relatives in Ohio or Indiana?

Sometimes they are offered on Craigslist.