Paranoid...maybe just a little

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nelsongg

Reaction score
Pitched my first batch of ESB on saturday at 6:00pm. Temp in basement 68 degrees. Started seeing a bubble every 3-4 seconds 24 hours later. 24 hours after that, no more bubbles (or so it appears). Just left it alone for a few days and today I took a gravity of 1.015. Of course being a noob I aerated the batch before taking an initial gravity, so it was impossible to do thru all the foam. So I don't have an initial gravity to compare to. So I was just going to take gravities for the next three days. Does the gravity seem low for an ESB?

Thanks,
Greg

1.015 is not 'low' for anything - except maybe super sweet wine.

It will probably go down to ~1.012 or maybe a tad lower. If your reading is the same over the next three days then you're good to go.

According to the Brewmaster's Bible the FG for an ESB should be 1.010-1.016. Now certainly individual recipes can change that range but I'd say if you have a 1.015 you're not far off from what you should expect. I'd bet that if the gravity remains the same for 3 days you're set.

What was your recipie? From that we could estimate your OG.

MidWest Classic ESB Extract Kit
6 lbs. Gold liquid malt extract
8 oz. Caramel 40°L
2 oz. Chocolate malt
2 oz. Roasted Barley specialty grains
3.5 oz. of hops
Irish Moss
Munton's 6 gm dry yeast.

I really like Bitter beer, so it was a logical first choice for me.

Although 6 grams of yeast will ferment the wort, it is a bit low. Usually I use 11grams for a typicial ale recipie if I'm using dry yeast and I re-hydrate it.