Questions about homebrewing laws

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jal2196

Reaction score
Hi, my name is Jon, and I'm a Columbia University journalism student working on a story about home brewing laws in different states.

If you know anything about this or have any experience with this, please send me an email at ****@*****.***. Thanks.

[Mod Edit] - No solicitations via email. You want to engage in a conversation, this is what the forum is for.

Check out the American Homebrew Association Website. It has up to date information on all laws.

People mostly ignore laws related to homebrewing, except perhaps the injunction against selling their brews. Not many brewers will forego brewing simply because they live in a state that forbids homebrewing. I've never heard of a home brewer who stopped brewing for the year because he reached the statutory volume limitation (usually 200 gallons).

People mostly ignore laws related to homebrewing, except perhaps the injunction against selling their brews. Not many brewers will forego brewing simply because they live in a state that forbids homebrewing. I've never heard of a home brewer who stopped brewing for the year because he reached the statutory volume limitation (usually 200 gallons).

Actually, there are several states where HBing is illegal, but they have HB stores there...what's that all about??? :mad:

I started my first batch two weeks ago on the stove top, took over 45 minutes to come to the boil, got close so I added the malt. I grabbed a sieve to drain the grains and realized it had some crud on it. In the 30 seconds I turned away to clean it the wort decided to come to boil. The extract sticks nicely to the stovetop. :D

I suppose if a watched pot never boils an unwatched pot boils instantaneously!