Formulating your own recipe...easier than you think.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

user 22118

Reaction score
I am relatively new to this hobby of brewing, with less than a year under my belt, though have brewed enough batches to understand the fundamentals of formulating a recipe that myself and people around me enjoy. I constantly see the threads that ask the question, "Does this recipe look good?" or "Will this be beer?". The answer to both questions are, it depends and yes.

The first time that I took beer recipe formulation into my own hands, I created a beer that was consumed in under one week from the date that I kegged it. Was it a great beer, no. Was it a beer that we drank, yes. Will I make it a second time the same way, never. The reason that I say this is because I personally have learned so much since then that I wouldn't formulate it in the same way. I wouldn't add so much Crystal, and might vary the crystals between some 40L and 120L. I might also add in a handful of chocolate to add a little bit of bitter. All that aside, I started with a product that I knew that I enjoyed and built from there.

This art of making beer, it is a lot like cooking. A pinch of Chocolate Malt, a handful of Rye, Three cups of Maris Otter or in the Extract brewer some DME. Point being is that if you know that the end product will taste like beer, then you are on the right track.

Onto the point I am trying to make. Start with the basics of every recipe. For example, with my Sweet Delicious Mowlawner I knew two things that I wanted to achieve. First off was that I wanted something that was light enough to drink during the heat of the day and Second that I wanted a nice hop aroma and a creamy head.