No cones...

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AR-Josh

Reaction score
This is my first year growing hops. I planted one sizable cascade rhizome, and several Tettenanger. All of the rhizomes sprouted and grew like weeds. I have no cones though. They're nice and green. I've fertilized them, watered them, they look happy. No cones. I don't see any major spots of while powdery mold or anything. What gives? Any ideas?

Getting sizable hop yields from 1st year plants can be hit or miss. If you got good growth in your first year, that's the important thing. You grew the root system for next year and gave it plenty of energy to get a head start. Any 1st year hops are a bonus.

That said I got a couple of dry ounces from my 3 plants last season (1st yr). They didn't form until mid to late August, but these hop plants are in northern Minnesota. I would expect you'd have hops by now in Maryland if you were going to get any. But you might need another few weeks, who knows?

Anything you get in the first year is a bonus. The first year, like previously stated, is for growing the root system. If you don't have burrs by now, you won't. Just keep watering those baby's so they can keep strong right up until winter. They'll produce next year.

I knew I wouldn't get a full harvest the first year but I was hoping for one or two cones...just so I could pluck them off and smell them. :(

I have three rhizomes growing this year (mt. hood, sterling and nugget) and only one has grown more than three feet (and the long bine that did grow was killed off by hungry locusts). The nugget seems to be a terribly slow grower but I don't expect any hops this year. Who knows though. We stay sunny and in the 90s all the way to the beginning of October, sometimes longer.