High FG with West Coast Amber

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

danabob2

Reaction score
Hi All-

Although I am relatively new to this hobby (5 or 6 batches so far) I am definitely new to this forum, so bear with me....

As I said I have brewed 5 or so batches in the last few months, most of which were pretty phenomenal (except the first which is to be expected!). All of them had on OG of 1.051-1.046 and a FG of 1.012-1.006. My latest batch though was the West Coast Amber Extract Kit from Hoptech. It had an OG of 1.048 (normal) when I brewed it 2 weeks ago. I took a sample gravity reading yesterday to find that the specific gravity was 1.020! Although this seemed a bit high it did taste pretty good. I havent seen it percolating in a week. Is this an acceptable FG? Did I get a stuck fermentation? Should I stir it up and wait another week before bottling?
On a note, Dan at Hoptech said that when measuring the extract he got a phone call and got distracted so I actually ended up with 7 pounds of extract instead of the typical 6 pounds. But I offset this by topping up the batch to about 6 gallons at the end instead of 5. I used the Wyeast liquid yeast which say they are for a 5 gallon batch. Do they not have enough gusto for a 6 gallon batch? Let me know any of your thoughts....

Well, since I recieved such an overwhelming response from such a wide panel of "experts", who would rather chat about their broken down midlife crisis of a dream of "owning their own bar & grill" rather than putting in the droning 9-5 that has become thier mundane life or how to precisely pronounce a meaningless word, I have decided that this juvenile forum is not worth my time or effort.