Will it hurt anything...

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Shack01

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
If I bottle my beer after 2 weeks in the carboy (fermenting)?

I'm an over-the-road truck driver and am usually on the road for about 3 weeks out of the month. Usually, I brew shortly after I get home, let it sit in the carboy for the rest of that week and the 3 weeks, or so, that I'm on the road and then bottle when I get home.

I don't do the secondary fermentation thing, after reading up about it here, I just leave it in the primary until ready to bottle. Due to some difficulties with getting my truck serviced, I'm coming up on 2 weeks in the carboy and was wondering if there is any reason I can't bottle it now? I HAVEN'T taken a gravity reading yet - as I said it usually sits for about 5 weeks so I'm not in the habit of disturbing the beer whilst it's fermenting - but IF I've reached my target OG, does anybody see a problem with bottling this soon?

I don't HAVE to bottle now, but my pipeline is severely depleted after the winter, and it would be nice for it to be ready to drink when I get home next month! :mug:

The only reason I wouldn't bottle now is if it isn't done fermenting out. You'd raise the risk of getting gushers or bottle bombs. If you are reasonable sure that it is done then bottle it and let it develop in the bottle. Either way you'll still end up with a very drinkable beer.

Thanks for all the replies! I was pretty sure it would be alright, but it never hurts to get some other opinions! :D

So, it's looking like tomorrow, I'll check the SG once and if it looks good, in the bottles it will go! :ban: