Itching to get into AG

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

vdub117

Reaction score
I started brewing in January, and every batch I make not only is my beer tasting better, and getting better head retention, but I get more comfortable with the process. Now I'm at the point where I want to get into all grain. I've been doing a partial mash with techniques borrowed from the Complete Joy of Homebrewing, and DeathBrewers writeup, and it's been going good, but I want more. Only problem is, SWMBO doesn't want me to spend any more money on my hobby (or addiction as she calls it:drunk:) So I was thinking about trying out the zap-pap from the book, since I never use my bucket fermentor, but after poking around on here I'm not so sure anymore. So here are my questions:

Is it actually effective?
Will the flavor of my beer improve?
Is there another system that I can build for next to nothing?
Should I just hold off until I can afford to do it right?

Thanks in advance,
Graham

Obviously your mate is defective. She needs to be returned for a better model.

Hey, if Charlie Freaking Papazian say it works, then yes, it works. It may not be the best, or the easiest, but it will work.

Will your beer improve? That's a tough one to answer, but you seem to be doing the right things, so signs point to yes.

Well, probably the cheapest all-grain process is "boil in a bag" (BIAB). All you need is a nylon mesh bag, some pre-crushed grains and the know-how.

All grain can be (definitely is, in the long run) cheaper than extract, so tell your defective mate that you're trying to save money.

I forgot to mention the water thing. Water chemistry is a lot more important in all grain. You should do some looking into it.