first time brewing a stout; concerned about fermenting time and final gravity

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rnbwdrgn

Reaction score
I am new to home brewing and wanted to try making a stout. I also changed the recipe. I used a kit for the basic stout. The kit only required adding boiling water to the malt extract and finishing with cold water before adding the yeast. In my recipe I added about a gallon of coffee and a 8oz can of hershey's special dark cocoa.

My concerns are that today seems to be the 14th day of fermenting. The original directions said that fermenting should be complete after 7-8 days. The directions also said that the final gravity should be below 1.014. I have checked the gravity M-W-and today and the gravity remains around 1.020.

Would adding the cocoa and coffee change the fermenting time and the final gravity?

I am new to home brewing and wanted to try making a stout. I also changed the recipe. I used a kit for the basic stout. The kit only required adding boiling water to the malt extract and finishing with cold water before adding the yeast. In my recipe I added about a gallon of coffee and a 8oz can of hershey's special dark cocoa.

My concerns are that today seems to be the 14th day of fermenting. The original directions said that fermenting should be complete after 7-8 days. The directions also said that the final gravity should be below 1.014. I have checked the gravity M-W-and today and the gravity remains around 1.020.

Would adding the cocoa and coffee change the fermenting time and the final gravity?