Coca-Cola Pre-Mix Question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

I_B_Mongo

Reaction score
So I recently scored a pallet of Coca-Cola pin-lock kegs. I picked them up directly from the distributor. Anyway, while I was letting the gas out of all of them, I noticed one of the kegs was still half full (or half empty...depending on how you look at it).

My question is, can I put the keg under pressure and drink it? If so, what pressure and how long of a line do I need to use? I've never done a soda before, but plan on trying it out. Just thought it would be nice to have some Coke on tap since I had it anyway.

Thanks!

I_B_Mongo

Soda is usually carbed around 30psi or so, but that keg is more than likely filled with coke syrup and it's gonna have to be diluted. I have no idea what the ratio is for that or if that stuff is still good.

Actually, the tab on the keg said it was pre-mixed and the expiration date wasn't for another year.

I think that in most areas, corny kegs haven't been used in a LONG time. I wouldn't be surprised if that pallet of kegs might have been sitting in the back of a warehouse for years.

edit: typed too slow. If the date says it's still good, give it a taste and see!

Well then cool it down hit it with at least 30psi for a few days and see what you end up with. Keep in mind that running soda through your lines usually means they need to be replace before you use that keg for beer. Sometimes the smell and aroma of the soda can't be washed out of the lines no matter how hard you try.

What conditions were the keg stored under? I'd be a little leery if it wasn't kept cold the whole time, but that doesn't mean I wouldn't try to re-carb it and give it a taste.