Should I add Instant Oatmeal to this Wit

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cronxitawney

Reaction score
This will be my first attempt at a wit, but I am not sure about adding instant oatmeal.

Steeped 60 min @ 154
2# Torrified Wheat
4 oz CaraPils
(1 or 2 pcks of Instant Oatmeal)

Boil:
5# Extra Light DME
.75 oz Amarillo hops 8.9% aau (30 min)
1 oz Coriander (10min)
1 oz Bitter Orange Peel (10 min)

Using WLP400 yeast

As this is my first attempt, I am not sure what the oatmeal will do for the beer. I know that my wife loves Blue Moon, and there are oats in that. Any suggestions?

1 lb of oats should be fine. The recipe I use calls for them.

Also, I would consider adding some flaked wheat and cutting the coriander and orange peel in half. Just my $0.02.

If I only use .5 oz of each, will the orange flavor still stand out? SWMBO also likes Leinie Sunset Wheat because of it's heavier orange flavor.(I personally think it tastes artificial like Trix cereal) This is my last-ditch effort to get her to like my hobby enough to stop giving me crap:D

If I only use .5 oz of each, will the orange flavor still stand out? SWMBO also likes Leinie Sunset Wheat because of it's heavier orange flavor.(I personally think it tastes artificial like Trix cereal) This is my last-ditch effort to get her to like my hobby enough to stop giving me crap:D

So everyone has this problem huh?

I wonder if Jim Koch got crap from his SWMBO too....

Just get a small bottle of Orange extract...a drop or two in her glass should give a decent Orange punch :D.

OP, the unconverted Oats is probably a good idea to give some haze. Remember though, drink it up young. Ohh hey post 3333