1st brew review

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

captaineriv

Reaction score
No one might care but I thought I'd include a review of my first homebrew because I'm excited about it, so just go with it. :)

Here goes: Cooper’s IPA kit plus 3.3 lbs. hopped amber LME. Primary fermentation only. Bottle-conditioned for 1 week before first sampled (plenty of carbonation anyway). Dark amber color, initially clear but clouded up after being poured and sipped, thick head, very sweet smell. Initial taste was rather bland but slightly estery. Aftertaste was very bitter. ABV approximately 3.4% (lower than expected but I know how to correct). As far as body or mouthfeel, I'm not experienced enough to determine. Successful first batch but wouldn’t call it a good-tasting beer. However, I've had much worse brewed commercially. I'll give it a 2 out of 5, compared to commercial brews I've tried, but I expected this.

Next time around, I'll definitely experiment with 2ndary fermentation, liquid yeast, and stray away from ingredient kits. Might also try using some specialty grains depending on what style I choose. No need to comment, but do so if you'd like.

captaineriv

Review your beer in two more weeks and let us know if you still feel the same way about it :)

My first batch is just coming up on the 3rd week in bottles. After the first week, I tried it, and was a little disappointed. Last night however, I had a bottle and it has turned into some pretty good beer. I'll bet that yours will suprise you after another week or two.

captaineriv said:
Next time around, I'll definitely experiment with 2ndary fermentation, liquid yeast, and stray away from ingredient kits. Might also try using some specialty grains depending on what style I choose.