Very Basic Brewing Questions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nmesmeric

Reaction score
I am very new to home brewing and am having a basic attempt at brewing some Coopers English Bitter.

I have it in a 5 gallon fermenter at the moment, just as it was out of the packet, nothing else added.

I was going to just get a syphon and syphon it straight from first fermentation into some plastic 2 liter coke bottles after three weeks of fermenting. Then basically start drinking it 'if it tasts ok ish' :)

My questions are as follows:

1) When i syphon it into the coke bottles do i need to add anything else, i've seen priming sugar mentioned but i dont need it to be fizzy as it is meant to be bitter?

2) How do i know if it has finished fermenting, i have just bought a hydrometer but i took no initial readings?

3) Also have you any other tips for improving my plan highlighted above? i do realise that there is a good chance this beer is going to taste pretty rotten lol :)

Thanks in advance for taking the time to answer such basic questions,

Cheers,

Felix

nmesmeric said:
I am very new to home brewing and am having a basic attempt at brewing some Coopers English Bitter.

I have it in a 5 gallon fermenter at the moment, just as it was out of the packet, nothing else added.

I was going to just get a syphon and syphon it straight from first fermentation into some plastic 2 liter coke bottles after three weeks of fermenting. Then basically start drinking it 'if it tasts ok ish' :)

1) When i syphon it into the coke bottles do i need to add anything else, i've seen priming sugar mentioned but i dont need it to be fizzy as it is meant to be bitter?

2) How do i know if it has finished fermenting, i have just bought a hydrometer but i took no initial readings?