Cleaning CO2 Lines in a Kegarator?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

efreem01

Reaction score
Hi All,

I've been kegging beer for about 8 months now, and my kegerator has gone through a number of modifications. For the moment, now i have capacity for about 4 kegs with a single regulator and a 4-way CO2 distributor.

By a repetitively doing a newbie mistake that i think just about everyone must make, i heat up a newly filled keg to 30-40 PSI to force carb, shake like hell and then accidently open the valve to one of the other kegs. Basically what i get is a beer explosion in the C02 line between keg a (30psi) and keg b(8-10 psi). Now there's crusty beer in my CO2 lines. As far as i can tell, this issue hasn't been changing the taste of my beer but i would like to fix it.

Is it easier to cut out all of the vinyl tubing and redo the CO2 lines to ensure a well sanitized kegerator, or is there a simple method of cleaning this out?

How and when should i clean the 4-way CO2 distributor?

I've never cleaned and re-used CO2 lines, but I guess you could if you sanitised them and then let them dry out well.

My manifold has check valves on each "output" to prevent that from happening, but I have had beer up the co2 line from not haveing the line valve open and "charged" before attaching.