First attempt

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pjcampbell

Reaction score
Hello,

This is my first attempt,... I've got an "easy brew" IPA kit from 7 Bridges which has liquid extract and pellet hops and some liquid yeast 1968 london esb from wyeast. Any experience with this kit?

A couple questions, I am sure I will have 90 more later.

1) I have access to both 2 glass carboys (not sure of size yet) and 2 40 quart (10 gallon) plastic NSF food safe bins with tops. Would it be easier for the newbie to use the plastic? How do you airlock the plastic, or is it not necessary?

2) As a first timer , should I bother with secondary fermenter ? (have seen both suggested....).

3) Instructions say, after bottling to store at room temp for 70F, then after "a few days" move to cool dark place 55-65F for 1-3 weeks. I have only access to either our home fridge or our basement (70F). Nothing 55-65F. What should I do there?

BTW my timing is pretty bad (or good) here... if all goes well with this first batch its going to be "ready" about the same time the baby is "ready" to come out!

Thanks.. :mug:

What size glass? If you have a 6-gallon carboy, that's what I would use. A 10 gal. bin seems to big - too much headspace.

Skip the secondary fermentation - just leave the beer in the primary for 3 - 4 weeks. The bottles will need 3 weeks at room temperature (most kit instructions seem to compress the times involved - just tell the baby to wait). Then into the fridge 48 hours before serving.

Congrats to all involved BTW.