Does brewing stop after kids?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jcarson83

Reaction score
I just got back from lamaze class and finished dry hopping my Two Hearted clone and was wondering, does brewing stop after birth? I have one "safe" weekend left to brew my welcome back off the wagon present for my wife (SWMBO Slayer). I brewed the first a while back but its not going to make it long enough. I know my worries are probably just due to freaking out from whats about to happen (RDWHAHB) but I know its going to be hard working 10-12 hours a day and finding time for the fam. Once he gets old enough I think it's something we can do together and have fun with but boiling liquid and propane burners are no place for a new born.

I already had one kid when I started brewing. Having the second one around didn't change anything. Some folks around here have their kids help them when they brew. My kids hate the smell, so they won't help. My oldest thinks the stir plate is pretty cool, though.

I have a son that's going on 2 months. He's Like Bernie Brewer's kids not much help!! :D

I think you'll find you can still brew, you just need to plan ahead a little further. Don't surpise SWMBO with, ah.... "Oh yah, I'm brewing today..." I think its a good way to get them upset if they had plans to go out and have you watch the kid. This will be my issue as I get back to doing AG outside.

When the weather is bad, I do PM's with partial boils on the stove.

I brewed a partial mash two weeks ago, with the kid swinging away in his swing. I can give him a bottle then strap him into swing and he will be occupied for 45 minutes easily. When I lay him down to sleep he is zonked for 4 hours. They seem to get into a feeding & sleep schedule that you can work/brew around.